The things we don’t say

Growing up only a handful of people ever used the “N” word, for those of you who aren’t sure which word I am referring to I mean of course Nigger.

In my brothers high-school he had a lot of good friends that would call him nigger, because they were friends he didn’t take offense to it.

One day a kid that was not friends with my brother, who just wanted to fit in called my brother a nigger like the rest of Chris’s friends, so Chris egged on by his friends popped him in the face.

When questioned Chris explained this to my mom. Come graduation my mom of course saw his year book with everyone Chris was friends with calling him a Nigger.

The explanation was that Chris’s friends understood and could call him Nigger but strangers could not. How was a 12 year old kid supposed to know that? He of course just wanted to fit in.

I don’t know what happened to that kid but what I do know is that you need to decide how you want to be treated, who you want to associate with and set your boundaries  People will want to fit in with you and follow the pack reguardless of age, if you do not make sure your friends treat you a certain way people who want to be your friends will learn by example.

What kind of example are you setting for those around you?

Leave a Reply

