When Mommy Blogs Make You Feel Guilty

So I was looking through the Blogverse, which is to say the Universe size amount of blogs out there and I realized something – Most blogs, not all but most of the super famous ones are run by mothers. Not only are they run by mothers but if you want to become a blogger and make a name for yourself you better have children because hey other wise your story just isn’t that interesting.

The sad thing is that I know I am not that original so I know that there are a lot of women just like me feeling left out – a lot of women feel as if their stories just do not matter because they don’t have children, or because they aren’t listed as “Top Mommy blog of the year”. This offends me greatly.

There is a part of me, a tiny part of me that cries “I’m a mommy too”. A mother is defined as someone who has children, but what about those of us who do not? Not by our own choosing, but because sometimes that is just the way that life works.

There is nothing, and no one that can replace the loss of my would be son. Nothing and no one that can take this pain away and ever make it better, I have learned some days will be okay, other days will suck, and somewhere in between there will be days that are either not half bad or pretty damned amazing. It is just the way it is going to be.

From here on out though I refuse to feel guilty for not being a mommy, I refuse to believe that my story is unimportant because I do not have children. The moment I believe that the trauma and abuse I have suffered ceases to matter is the day that I then give up on myself. I will never allow for that to happen.

There are plenty of beautiful amazing women out there who have stories of survival or laughter, who see life in a different way and it is time that we join up against the army of mommy bloggers. (No offence Mothers) I am tired of feeling like I am a lone wolf in a sea of Mother-type-Sisterhoods so I am going to ask you to join with me.

All you have to do to join up is share a link to your blog. I am looking for blogs that are -not- the typical “look at my child isn’t he/she amazing” blog. We want to see stories of women who are dating or single, straight or gay, or any other permeation of lifestyle you can imagine. Hope to hear from you soon.

Syn

Leave a Reply

